headshots of Ally Osterberg and Benjamin Weiser

The Jepson School of Leadership Studies awards two Oxford scholarships

May 4, 2022
The Jepson School of Leadership Studies awards two graduating seniors scholarships to master's programs at the University of Oxford

The Jepson School of Leadership Studies named two members of the Class of 2022 Jepson Scholars: Ally Osterberg and Benjamin Weiser. Established in fall 2018 through a generous donation from Mr. Robert S. Jepson Jr., B’64, GB’75, H’87, and Mrs. Alice Andrews Jepson, the Jepson Scholars Program provides up to three scholarships annually for graduating Jepson School seniors to pursue one-year master’s degree programs at the University of Oxford. The scholarships cover room, board, tuition, and fees.            

Ally Osterberg will pursue a Master of Science in Latin American Studies. As a University of Richmond undergraduate, Osterberg majored in both leadership studies and Latin American, Latino, and Iberian studies. She completed 120 hours of community service annually as a Bonner Scholar during her last three years at Richmond. She also volunteered as a classroom aide and tutor and mentor to Hispanic students through several community-based-learning classes. The School presented her the Fredric M. Jablin Award for Undergraduate Research to conduct her Jepson senior honors thesis, “Does Civic Engagement Predict Moral Behaviors? A Test of Moral Theories.”

Benjamin Weiser will enroll in Oxford's Blavatnik School of Government to study for a Master of Public Policy. He graduated from University of Richmond in December 2021—a semester early—with majors in leadership studies and political science and numerous academic and leadership awards. A political activist, Weiser completed summer internships in 2020 and 2021—the first working on the U.S. Senate campaign of then Georgia Democratic candidate Jon Ossoff, the second working in the office of U.S. Sen. Ossoff. He also held numerous leadership roles on campus, including as a member of the Jepson Corps, a Richmond College Student Government Association senator, and a member of the President’s Student Cabinet.