From the Dean

May 24, 2022

Just over two weeks after Commencement, we are still riding the high of a wonderful academic year. Wonderful in so many ways, not the least of which was the April 8 inauguration of Kevin F. Hallock as the 11th president of the University of Richmond. What a pleasure it was to celebrate this momentous occasion with Jepson School benefactor and Richmond alumnus Robert S. Jepson Jr., who gave remarks at the inauguration.

Faculty, staff, and students alike were thrilled to participate in person once again in many of the School’s annual events, including three much-anticipated spring events. At Senior Banquet on April 6, our seniors reminisced fondly about their undergraduate years. Eighteen students presented an impressive array of research, including eight honors theses, at the Jepson Research Symposium on April 22. Beloved leadership studies professor Don Forsyth, who will retire this June, kept members of the Jepson School Class of 2022 laughing during his humorous address at Finale, our year-end program, on May 7.

The next day, we celebrated again at Commencement as 91 leadership studies seniors (77 majors and 14 minors) graduated and swelled the ranks of Jepson alumni to almost 1,900 worldwide. Among our graduates were two who will pursue master’s degree programs at the University of Oxford as Jepson Scholars this fall. 

Not surprisingly, our dedicated alumni have played a big role in making this year so successful. In the spring issue of the Jepson Update, you can read about their generosity to the School during Richmond’s annual UR Here Giving Day, the University’s upcoming Reunion Weekend (we hope you will join us June 3 - 5!), several of our accomplished alumni, and much more. 

Thank you for being a part of our Jepson family and for everything you do to contribute to the success of the Jepson School. This fall, we will mark the School's 30th anniversary and celebrate its impact on higher education. 

With my sincere thanks and best wishes,

Sandra J. Peart
Dean and E. Claiborne Robins Distinguished Professor in Leadership Studies
President, Jepson Scholars Foundation