Fredric M. Jablin Doctoral Dissertation Award

This annual award was established in 1999 and later renamed to honor and celebrate the life of Jepson professor Dr. Fredric M. Jablin (1952-2004). It is presented in partnership by the Jepson School of Leadership Studies and the International Leadership Association, and recognizes outstanding new scholarship in the field.

In keeping with the Jepson School's mission to further scholarship and educate others for and about leadership through curricula, events, and programs, this award is presented to a scholar whose doctoral dissertation research - on any topic and from any discipline - demonstrates substantial insights and implications for the study of leadership.

Submissions are due on or before June 15. Applicants must apply online and submit a letter of interest, a three- to five-page abstract of a substantive doctoral dissertation chapter (specifically, the chapter that best represents the author's dissertation), a brief biography and verification of the dissertation defense date (e.g., a letter from the dissertation advisor). The award committee will contact finalists by the end of June to request a full dissertation chapter.

Recipients are recognized and present their dissertations at the annual International Leadership Association's global conference, receive a $1,000 prize from the Jepson School of Leadership Studies, a one-year membership to the ILA, complimentary conference registration, and travel expenses.

Michael E. Promisel received the 2021 Fredric M. Jablin Doctoral Dissertation Award for his dissertation, “Paragons of Prudence: Political Leadership in Classical Political Thought."